Home Forums Support One user sees another user's tasks

This topic contains 8 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Hillel Coren 1 month ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #22196

    RHD_mantsa
    Participant

    Since this is the first time I am making use of the multi-user feature (self hosted), I was surprised to find that the second user I created had access to all of the first user’s tasks. Is this normal?

    Ideally, each worker would only see their own tasks, right?

    Is there no way to restrict this?

    And secondly, it appears I am only able to restrict this second user from seeing projects or customers, but I can not, for instance, allow them to see customer and project names without them also seeing rates…
    How do I allow a contractor to select customer and project for their task without also having access to project rates?

    Is it possible to restrict visibility per project or is it just all projects or none?

    Thanks –

    RHD_M

    • This topic was modified 1 month ago by  RHD_mantsa.
    #22222

    Hillel Coren
    Keymaster

    The permissions should allow users to only see tasks they create.

    The app doesn’t support showing partial record data.

    #22223

    RHD_mantsa
    Participant

    OK…

    Where do I control which tasks they will see then?

    Presently both users see both users’ tasks. How do I set it so that the second user only sees their own tasks, and the first user sees both?

    • This reply was modified 1 month ago by  RHD_mantsa.
    #22225

    Hillel Coren
    Keymaster

    Click the user on Settings > User Management, you can enable create, view and/or edit.

    #22226

    RHD_mantsa
    Participant

    Right.

    But how do I control whether or not the second user sees only his own tasks versus everyone else’s?
    Presently this second user is seeing my tasks as well as his own. How do I disable them seeing my tasks, but leave their own task view enabled?

    I do not see an option that controls that.

    You said each user should only see their own tasks, this is not the case on my system. I see all tasks, and he does as well.

    I want a situation where he only sees his own tasks, but I see all tasks (mine and his), since I need to be able to see his tasks in order to invoice clients for them.

    How do I control this?

    #22244

    RHD_mantsa
    Participant

    Hillel stated:
    “The permissions should allow users to only see tasks they create.”

    This is not the case on my system. With default self hosted configuration, both users see both users’ tasks.

    How do I fix this?

    #22245

    Hillel Coren
    Keymaster

    Is the second user an admin?

    #22246

    RHD_mantsa
    Participant

    No.
    He only has full permissions to see Tasks (all three boxes checked – Create, View and Edit).
    All other boxes are unchecked.

    #22247

    Hillel Coren
    Keymaster

    You’d want to uncheck ‘view’ for tasks if they shouldn’t see all tasks

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Posted in: