Home Forums Support Importing JSON in pro plan dosn't work

This topic contains 10 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Hillel Coren 5 days, 4 hours ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

paroiron
    Participant

Hi, after setting both my local self hosted Invoice Ninja and my pro plan to English, I exported to a JSON file and imported both data and settings to my pro plan, but it failed. I’ve tried to import data only or settings only with the same lack of success. The only message I get is “Please select a file” in a reddish line up the screen.
    I’ve had no luck with the knowledge base or the forum.
    I have custom fields, but I don’t think it is a problem, is it?
    Is there anything I should double check or configure ? Thanks !

(By the way, I think import/export should be independent from language.)

paroiron
    Participant

CSV seems to work, but it seems like I can’t get all the data from it.

Hillel Coren
    Keymaster

Hmmm… the language shouldn’t affect the JSON import/export.

If you’re transferring from self-host to hosted can you confirm the self host app is running the latest version.

paroiron
    Participant

Hi,
    About the language, I assumed it was sensitive because there’s a warning on the app’s import page (“use English”).
    My local install is very close to the latest version, i.e. 4.5.xx. I’ll check tomorrow ’cause it’s past bedtime here.
    Cheers

paroiron
    Participant

Checked : self hosted is v.4.5.4. I don’t think such a minor difference in version should be a problem : I understand you can’t guarantee backward compatibility, but forward compatibility on a third digit version shouldn’t matter. Am I mistaken ?

Hillel Coren
    Keymaster

I’m not sure.. that said if the problem were due to a version mismatch I’d expect it to fail during the import, it sounds like you aren’t able to upload the JSON file itself. How large is the file, maybe it’s a size issue?

paroiron
    Participant